Mission and Vision  | Executive Committee | Members

HDNs vision is to build an environment for Filipinos where they can develop their full potential and lead productive, creative lives in accord with their needs and interests.  Human development is about enabling people to have wider choices and expanding capabilities that will allow them to live a full life as human beings.

Human development is about enabling people to have wider choices and expanding capabilities that will allow them to live a full life as human beings.

Fundamental to enlarging people’s choices is building human capabilities to lead long and healthy lives, to be knowledgeable, to have access to the resources needed for a decent standard of living and to be able to participate in the life of the community. Without these, many choices are simply not available, and many opportunities in life remain inaccessible.

Our mission is to build knowledge that will help strengthen institutional capacity in achieving human development outcomes primarily through research and advocacy.  Projects and programs are conducted while in constant consultation and engagement with stakeholders from civil society, research and academic institutions around the country, and the Philippine government.

HDN is a non-stock non-profit organization comprised of around 150 development practitioner- members from government agencies, international organizations, civil society organizations, and research institutions.  In terms of discipline and areas of work the group includes some of the country’s foremost economists, sociologists, political scientists, statisticians and specialists in public administration, education, labor, and social work.

The Network began as an informal group of development practitioners who first got together in 1992 through the initiative of Professor Solita Collas-Monsod and Resident Representative of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), Kevin McGrath. Through a series of meetings, the group discussed how best to apply the major findings and conclusions of the first Philippine Human Development Report. The HDN became a registered organization in 1997.

Executive Committee

Honorary President: President Fidel V. Ramos

Founding President: Solita Collas-Monsod

President: Emmanuel S. de Dios

Vice President: Cynthia Rose Banzon-Bautista

Secretary: Fernando Aldaba

Treasurer: Winfred Villamil

Auditor: Erlinda Capones

Execom Members:

Gelia T. Castillo

Karina Constantino-David

Arsenio Balisacan

Michael Tan

Romulo A. Virola


Coordinator: Toby Melissa Collas Monsod


Carlos Abad-SantosVictor A. Abola

Jose V. Abueva

Carmen A. Abubakar

Tomas P. Africa

Filomeno V. Aguilar Jr.

Michael M. Alba

Ramon Jose Albert

Fernando T. Aldaba

Ellamelides S. Antonio

Alvin P. Ang

Maria Ela L. Atienza

Arsenio M. Balisacan

Cynthia Rose B. Bautista

Victoria A. Bautista +

Maricor E. Baytion

Edsel L. Beja, Jr.

Allan Benedict I. Bernardo

Lisa Grace Bersales

Emilia T. Boncodin +

Flor Bordey

Alex B. Brillantes Jr.

Leonor M. Briones

Yasmin Busran-Lao

Finardo Cabilao +

Ruth S. Callanta

Dante B. Canlas

Jessica Reyes Cantos

Erlinda M. Capones

Joseph Capuno

Ledivina V. Carino +

Gelia T. Castillo

Nina Castillo-Carandang

Lina Castro

Paula Collado

Mercedes B. Concepcion

Karina Constantino-David

Lawrence Dacuycuy

Clarissa David-Vergara

Ma. Helen Dayo

Emmanuel S. de Dios

Edicio de la Torre

Marian S. de los Angeles

Maria Lourdes G. de Vera-Mateo+

Maria Serena Diokno

Estrella Domingo+

Maria Luisa C. Doronilla+

Geoffrey Ducanes

Carmelita N. Ericta

Emmanuel Esguerra

Francis Estrada Felisa U. Etemadi

Mario Feranil

Miriam Ferrer

Marides Gardiola

Ernesto D. Garilao

Diadem Gonzales

Andrew Gonzalez+

Eduardo T. Gonzalez

Pilar Habito

Cielito F. Habito

Carolina Hernandez

Ronald Holmes

Alber Husin

Milagros M. Ibe

Jeanne Frances Illo






Napoleon B. Imperial

Herman Joseph S. Kraft

Aleli D. Kraft

Exaltacion Lambrette

Leonardo Lanzona Jr.

Vincent Lazatin

Zosimo Lee

Patricia B. Licuanan

Jennifer Liguton

Jose Victor Lobrigo

Francis Lucas

Juan Miguel Luz

Guillermo M. Luz

Jaime V. Manalo IV

Victorino M. Manalo

Rosario G. Manasan

Dennis Mapa

Ronald Mendoza

Juan Mercado

Virginia A. Miralao

Solita C. Monsod

Toby Monsod

Wilfredo G. Nuqui

Rene E. Ofreneo

Jeremaiah M. Opiniano

Trinidad S. Osteria

Thelma Paris

Erlinda C. Pefianco

Aurora E. Perez +

Sharon Faye Piza

Emma Porio

Victoria V. Quimbo

Teresita Quintos-Deles

Mary Racelis

Fidel V. Ramos

Corazon M. Raymundo

Ma. Lourdes G. Rebullida

Celia M. Reyes

Jana Grace P. Ricasio

Remedios I. Rikken

Temario C. Rivera

Felicitas Rixhon

Agnes Rola

Dionisia A. Rola

Segundo Romero, Jr.

Rozanno E. Rufino

Mercedita Sombilla

Danilo A. Songco

Filomeno S. Sta. Ana III

Evageline Sucgang

Minda C. Sutaria +

Ana Maria L. Tabunda

Mario M. Taguiwalo

Edita A. Tan

Ancheta K. Tan

Michael Tan

Crisline G. Torres-Pilapil

Philip Arnold Tuaño

Peter U

Corazon Urquico

Sofronio B. Ursal

Lorna G. Villamil

Winfred Villamil

Romulo A. Virola

Julkipli M. Wadi



* This includes (1) listed members who did not respond to the invitation for the 2011 General Assembly, (2) listed members who have not yet re-confirmed his/her membership either verbally or through email/letter and (3) listed members whom the HDN Secretariat is unable to find or contact
+ Deceased